New Planet's Pale Ale • A Gluten-Free Beer Review

New Planet's Pale Ale • A Gluten-Free Beer Review

When we originally believed J to be intollerant to gluten and casein (eggs, peanuts and more) our family decided to make a collective move to a GFCF diet. As much as that entails, one detail that could not be overlooked was ‘our time’. That is, we want to ensure that most of the things we enjoy can be made up for…somewhere. What am I talking about? Beer.

C is a beer guy, I’m more a wine or specific ‘drink’ gal. But, we found, beer would not have to be compromised and that moving to gluten free doesn’t mean you have to make compromises on your recreational adult activities.

Generally, there are main beer choices on the market from different brewers. Microbrews or independent, smaller companies are popping up as well. These are usually from individuals who needed to have a gluten free diet and found themselves dissatisfied with their choices.

New Planet Pale AleNew Planet, bottled in Boulder, Colorado is one such brewery. New Planet boasts on its packaging that it’s an “Old style beer for new-style beer drinkers….You can tread lightly without any compromises.” At this time, they hold two beer choices, Pale Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale. This review is for New Planet’s Tread Lightly Ale.

We set the beer up, poured it from the dark brown bottle to our glasses. The aroma which was stronger in the bottle was subtle and non-overbearing in the glass. Golden in color, no overwhelming carbonation, it looked to be promising…and the taste delivered!

C said, “Of the gluten free beers currently available, I find it the most palatable. Nice golden color. Good ale.” (That’s his official statement).

Currently, they do not provide these outside of Colorado and are unable to ship outside of Colorado. << Update >> New Planet is now available in 44 states!  Providing kegs is something they are planning for in future endeavors…something all other brewers (at present) do not have available.

By the way, if you don’t already know this, wines and most liquors are already gluten free.  Also, this was NOT a sponsored review / post… just thought you’d like to know!

(Photo Courtesy of New Plant at

By | 2013-02-23T07:00:48+00:00 February 23rd, 2013|Categories: Allergies / Anaphylaxis, Food, Off the Shelf|Tags: , |1 Comment

About the Author:

Gina St. Aubin
Gina St. Aubin is a former Victim’s Advocate who now advocates for those with intellectual and physical challenges. Her eldest son is diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy, Autism, Sensory Processing Disorder, Electrical Status Epilepticus during Sleep / Landau-Kleffner Syndrome (a rare epileptic disorder causing verbal aphasia) and Developmental Delays. In June, 2012, her son also underwent a successful hemispherectomy. Gina is the editor, author and owner of Special Happens, serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the SPD Foundation, and resides in Colorado where she is a mother of 3, wife, blogger, writer and special needs advocate.

One Comment

  1. Kayla March 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm - Reply

    I have only just got into the whole gluten free thing, I didnt even know what it was 6 months ago and I keep slipping back as I often totally forget how used it is and how many things it is in. I would never ever have even thought about it been in my beer. Its nice to know we have options here too but I wondered if we will ever see these things in bars on nights out – I feel that is some way off!

Leave A Comment